Provincial call-up for club rugby players

Rhinos flyer Jors Dannhauser

OWING to the annual SARU provincial club tournament being cancelled this year, the KZN Rugby Union has organised a fixture between a Sharks Club XV and KZN Platteland Club XV in an effort to retain the passion and interest among club players.

The match will feature as a curtain-raiser ahead of the Sharks vs Western Province Currie Cup match on Saturday, 14 October at Growthpoint Kings Park.

The Platteland Club XV is made up of clubs from northern KZN, Zululand and Southern KZN, with The Sharks Club XV made up of Durban players.

Mancosa Rhinos players Blessing Nhlozi, Sydney Coetzee, Thokozani Mdluli and Jors Dannhauser, and Pongola’s Stefan Hall will represent the Platteland side.


Platteland Club XV

Forwards – Adriaan Koorts, Blessing Nhlozi, Damian May, Danie Vermaak, Jason Kashula, Juan van Berg, Jurie Huyser, Khumbu Khoza, Lourens Stapelberg, Mthoko Nkwayane, Stefan Hall, Tian Malherbe, Waldo Herbst, Wandile Sibiya and Wessel Botha.

Backs – Charles Dube, Gift Mabaso, Greg Clasen, Jaques Moore, Jayden Onckers, Jors Dannhauser, Juan Els, Klippies Pretorius, Max Mkhize, Nico Smuts, Sidney Coetsee, Sipho Dungwa and Thokozani Mduli.

Sharks Club XV

Forwards – Brad Lange, Chris de Beer, Curtleigh Johnson, Danny Stokes, Denham Fosteras, Ettiene Ries, Fanele Zwane, Francois van Zyl, Jason de Broise, Jonathan Deighton, Kevin Buck, Lungelo Mthethwa, Mike Uppink, Moses Mapande, Ray September, Rodger Zondi and Wade Elliott.

Backs – Malcolm Cele, Andrew Holland, Blake Mingay, Chad Fisher, Divan Fick, Henkie Groenewald, Jacques Venter, Jasper Genis, Josh Fourie, Merlyn Pieterse, Selvan White, Simba Kubate, Spa Dube and Tony Botha.


Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter.

For news straight to your phone invite us:

WhatsApp – 072 069 4169

Instagram – zululand_observer

Richard Springorum
Sport Reporter

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Success rewarded for local rugby players